Previously On…A Voiceover Update

Wow! It’s hard to believe how fast the months ago by…It seems like just yesterday I was tangled in a jungle of cords and wires as I set up my home studio. It was an overwhelming experience, but I hung in there and got it all sorted out.

First Day in StudioI cannot describe the immense sense of pride I felt once my gear was set up, my software uploaded, and the walls sound-treated. I loved the feeling of accomplishment of being in my own home studio. Ready to record, it was a selfie-worthy occasion!

Thanks to a tip from a friend on Facebook, I quickly found my first client: Spoken Layer. For the last six months, I’ve been working with them nearly every day to record articles published by some heavy hitters in online content: Slate, Mashable, Jezebel, Fusion, and IGN. Most of these web articles are brief, around 3-6 minutes, but some have been as long as 20 minutes. After a quick read, I edit the audio files to take out flubbed lines, gaps, distracting breaths and audibles, and clean up any fuzzy background noise. Then *poof* they are published to podcast channels on iTunes, Spotify, Alexa, and more.

I love working with Spoken Layer! I get to spend a couple of hours every day reading the hottest trending topics in politics, entertainment, and celebrity gossip. I feel more connected to what’s going on in American culture than ever before. And I love breathing life into the copy, trying to capture the snark, wit, fun, and sincerity which marks my Millennial generation.

In addition to Spoken Layer, I’ve also worked with Resolution Media, based in Melbourne, Australia. (That’s right, I’m INTERNATIONAL!) Together I’ve lent my voice to corporate projects and presentations. Resolution Media has some cool clients, and I love thinking about my voice echoing in their conference rooms. And, the staff at Resolution could not be more professional or easy to work with. Love them.

I also got to participate in a passion project. My wonderful friend, Alicia Hansen, is an amazingly talented writer, singer, and producer. I not only had the pleasure of editing her most recent story, A Final Word (a Star Trek fanfiction in memory of Anton Yelchin), but I also got to add my voice to a character or two in the audiobook version she produced. You can check out all three episodes of A Final Word on her YouTube channel.

Studio GirlFinally, in my spare time, I love to give back to the community by volunteering with WVTF Public Radio in Roanoke, VA as a reader for their Radio Reading Service. During our live broadcasts and pre-recorded sessions my reading partner and I will read local papers for the visually impaired. I’ve learned a lot about the goings on in my local community through this opportunity. Also, the staff at WVTF are amazing! They work so hard to make sure that their listeners have access to quality news reporting from around the world. The cool thing about volunteering is that you don’t have to be a professional voice talent. Just check out their website and send your info to my friend Amber, WVTF’s Volunteer Coordinator.

Overall, it’s been an exciting year in voice over for me. I’m motivated to expand my business and find more clients. I love my work, and I love bringing some passion and fun to each piece. If you’re interested in collaborating together, shoot me an email, reach out on Facebook, Twitter, Voices.com, or give me a call: 540-556-9108. Let’s make something!

One thought on “Previously On…A Voiceover Update

Leave a Reply

