My Life…in Quotation Marks

“Even in literature and art, no man who bothers about originality will ever be original: whereas if you simply try to tell the truth (without caring twopence how often it has been told before) you will, nine times out of ten, become original without ever having noticed it.” –C.S. Lewis

“It is time men allowed their imagination to infect their intellect”–from “Sootfall and Fallout” E.B. White

“I believe God made me for a purpose, but He also made me fast. And when I run I feel His pleasure.” –Eric Liddell, Chariots of Fire

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only Son that whoever believes in Him will not die but have everlasting life.”–John 3:16

If life can be summed up in quotations, then this is mine.

I believe truth is a means to originality. Originality is not found in “edginess,” but rather it is found in the utmost expression of truth. Value honesty and integrity.

I believe that we should not try to separate creativity from academia. If we do then we greatly limit the influx of new, inventive, and original thought. Behind every significant breakthrough is a brilliant and creative intellect.

I believe that we are all put on this planet with certain gifts. When we use our talents and abilities to glorify God, then we have truly found our purpose. We worship God by using the gifts He has given us for his glory.

The Ultimate Truth, which I believe in is found at the foot of the cross where Jesus Christ laid down His life to atone for the sins of all mankind. This sacrifice was born out of love and because He first loved us, then we too can love others. I believe in Love–True Love–and I believe it can break any curse.

If life can be summed up in themes, then these are mine: Truth, Imagination, Intellect, Worship, and Faith.

Blessings,

Brooke

Original date of publication: February 17, 2013

Leave a Reply

